Monday, 6 October 2014

Daylight Savings and what it means for New Years Eve

What timezone New Year's Eve are you in?

WOW... in some states of Australia we just lost 1 hour as the clocks went forward to make way for Summer Time or Daylight Savings.  Now that is not a bad thing as it gives us one hour more of sunlight in the states and cities where it is applicable.  But it can be confusing as who and which states are doing what?

Well here it is... Victoria, New South Wales, ACT, South Australia and Tasmania are all Summer Timers or Daylight Savers!  That means that these states and the cities of Melbourne, Sydney, Canberra, Hobart and Adelaide have all moved their clocks one hour forward.   

Queensland, the Northern Territory and Western Australia don't worry about Daylight Savings and figure they get enough sunshine!
So that now means in terms of New Years Eve that the sequence of NYE in Australia will be ...

The sequence of party towns and fireworks displays in Australia will be ...

At 12 Midnight on the 31st December 2014
- Melbourne and all the towns of Victoria
- Hobart and all the towns of Tasmania
- Sydney and all the towns of NSW
- Canberra and all the towns of ACT

Then 30 minutes later ...
- Adelaide and all the towns of South Australia

Then 30 minutes later ...  (1 hour after the rest of the Eastern states)
- Brisbane, the Gold Coast and all the towns of Queensland

Then another 30 minutes  (So 1 hour after South Australia)
- Darwin, Alice Springs and the towns of Northern Territory

And finally another 90 minutes ... (So 3 hrs after Sydney and Melbourne etc)
- Perth and the towns of Western Australia

Simple really ...  Who said daylight saving was confusing?
I reckon we can still get to all the NYE parties in Oz in time ....   Let's celebrate!

See all the best events for New Years Eve and more information on timezones for NYE in Australia.

No comments:

Post a Comment